What are NIST Standards?

Some standards, guidelines, and best practices to meet the industrial, public, and federal agencies' needs in Cybersecurity are developed by NIST.  The cybersecurity framework by NIST has an outcome-based approach and this set it to be applied in any sector and on any size of business. There are three basic pillars of the NIST cybersecurity framework, namely;

  1. Framework Core
  2. Profiles
  3. Implementation Tiers

The framework core has five major functions:

  1. Identify
  2. Protect
  3. Detect
  4. Respond
  5. Recover


NIST Cyber Security Framework


How to Harden your System?


The best solution for this challenge is to automate the hardening procedure. A good hardening automation tool should generate an impact analysis report automatically, enforce your policies on your production and maintain your servers' compliance posture. A hardening automation tool is essential for minimizing the attack surface and achieving compliance at large and complex infrastructures.


You might be interested