The Command Cyber Readiness Inspection (CCRI) is a comprehensive cybersecurity evaluation and assessment conducted by the United States Department of Defense (DoD). A CCRI serves as a formal inspection aimed at enhancing accountability and bolstering the security posture of DoD Information Networks in alignment with DoD standards, with a specific focus on Command, Mission, Threat, and Vulnerability. The primary objective of a CCRI audit is to comprehensively evaluate and ensure the cybersecurity readiness of DoD information systems and networks, encompassing those utilized by military commands, installations, and various organizations, thus safeguarding critical data and assets. We’re going to discuss the Command Cyber Readiness Inspection (CCRI) checklist and CCRI hardening for cybersecurity and defense.


white paper


Understanding the process for Command Cyber Readiness Inspection (CCRI)

Inspections are essential for pinpointing weaknesses and vulnerabilities in information systems and networks while also evaluating their adherence to cybersecurity regulations. CCRI inspections encompass various cybersecurity aspects such as hardening,  network security, information assurance, configuration management, physical security, and more. The specific focus of the inspection may vary depending on the organization under assessment.


CCRI assessments are based on established DoD cybersecurity standards, such as the Defense Information Systems for Security (DISS) and Defense Information Assurance Certification and Accreditation Process (DIACAP). Compliance with these standards is a key focus of the inspection.


What are the Three Command Cyber Readiness Inspection Areas?


The results of these three CCRI inspection areas help identify vulnerabilities, weaknesses, and areas for improvement:


Information Assurance (IA) and Cybersecurity: This area focuses on the organization’s information assurance and cybersecurity practices. It assesses whether the organization’s information systems and networks are adequately protected and compliant with DoD cybersecurity standards, policies, and regulations. It includes evaluations of access control, network security, vulnerability management, and compliance with information assurance and cybersecurity best practices.


Computer Network Defense (CND): The CND inspection area evaluates the organization’s capabilities and procedures for defending against cyber threats, attacks, and intrusions. It assesses the organization’s ability to detect, respond to, and mitigate cybersecurity incidents and vulnerabilities. This area also examines incident response plans and the organization’s readiness to handle cyber threats effectively.


Information Management: Information management encompasses the organization’s practices for handling and protecting sensitive and classified information. This includes ensuring that proper access controls are in place, data is appropriately classified, and information is safeguarded to prevent unauthorized disclosure or loss. Compliance with data protection and data handling policies and procedures is a key focus within this inspection area.


server hardening

How often are CCRI Inspections Conducted?


The frequency of Command Cyber Readiness Inspections (CCRI) can vary based on several factors, including the type of organization being inspected, its mission-criticality, and the specific requirements set by the Department of Defense (DoD). Here are some general guidelines for the frequency of CCRI assessments:


Annually: Some DoD components, especially those handling highly sensitive and classified information, may undergo CCRI inspections on an annual basis. This frequency ensures that their cybersecurity readiness is regularly assessed and maintained.


Biennially: Other organizations may be subject to CCRI inspections every two years (biennially). This frequency is often applicable to less critical or lower-risk components.


As Required: In certain cases, organizations may undergo CCRI assessments as needed. This can occur if there are specific concerns, significant changes in the organization’s cybersecurity posture, or other triggering events.


Ad Hoc: In response to emerging cybersecurity threats or incidents, the DoD may conduct ad-hoc CCRI assessments to address specific concerns or vulnerabilities.


What is the scoring criteria for a Command Cyber Readiness Inspection?


The CCRI scoring criteria are based on an overall score of 100 percent, which is divided into three components:


  1. Technical Implementation: This component accounts for 60 percent of the total score and evaluates the technical aspects of the network security, such as device discovery, classification, access control, policy compliance, and continuous monitoring.
  2. Compliance with Computer Network Defense (CND) Directives: This component accounts for 30 percent of the total score and assesses the adherence to the security benchmarks and standards mandated by the DoD, such as Host-Based Security System and Assured Compliance Assessment Solution.
  3. Contributing Factors: This component accounts for 10 percent of the total score and reflects the cyber culture awareness and leadership engagement of the DoD entity, such as the implementation of Security Technical Implementation Guide requirements, the plan of action and milestones, and the cybersecurity service provider alignment.



Prepare Your System for CCRI Inspection

Organizations undergoing a CCRI hardening project are expected to address any identified vulnerabilities and deficiencies to improve their cybersecurity posture. This often involves implementing corrective actions and mitigation strategies.


CalCom Hardening Suite (CHS) can help save time and effort on CCRI preparations by providing a comprehensive hardening solution. CHS tool configures and strengthens system defenses, prevents vulnerabilities, and aligns with cybersecurity standards and best practices.


You might be interested